# Coventry City Council Minutes of the Meeting of Council held at 12.50 pm on Thursday, 16 May 2019

Present:

Members: Councillor L Bigham (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott
Councillor N Akhtar
Councillor P Akhtar
Councillor P Akhtar
Councillor R Ali
Councillor A Andrews
Councillor P Male
Councillor P Male

Councillor P Male Councillor A Andrews Councillor K Maton Councillor R Auluck Councillor C Miks Councillor R Bailey Councillor L Bigham Councillor J Mutton Councillor J Birdi Councillor M Mutton Councillor R Brown Councillor O'Boyle Councillor K Caan Councillor G Ridley Councillor E Ruane Councillor J Clifford Councillor K Sandhu Councillor G Crookes Councillor G Duggins Councillor T Sawdon Councillor L Harvard Councillor P Seaman Councillor P Hetherton Councillor B Singh Councillor J Innes Councillor R Singh Councillor D Skinner Councillor B Kaur Councillor L Kelly Councillor H Sweet Councillor T Khan Councillor R Thay Councillor AS Khan Councillor C Thomas Councillor S Walsh Councillor R Lakha Councillor R Lancaster Councillor D Welsh Councillor G Williams Councillor M Lapsa

Honorary Alderman: D Batten, S Collins, H Fitzpatrick, J Gazey, M Hammon, A

Waugh, K Mulhall, T Skipper and J Wright

Apologies: Councillor S Bains and T Mayer

#### **Public Business**

### 12. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 13. Conferring the Title of Honorary Aldermen

The City Council considered a report of the Chief Executive which set out the details of nominations for Honorary Alderman. The following nomination had been received and was presented for approval:

## Tony Skipper

Tony Skipper served as a Councillor for 22 years, representing Earlsdon Ward from 1995 to 1999 and then Radford Ward from 2001 to 2019. He was Lord Mayor in 2017/18. His many roles included Cabinet Member for Area Coordination and Leisure, Arts and Sport, Deputy Cabinet Member for Children and Young People, Chair of Scrutiny Co-ordination Committee and Chair of Audit and Procurement Committee.

It was proposed by Councillor M Mutton, seconded by Councillor P Hetherton, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Tony Skipper as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr Skipper with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Alderman'. Honorary Alderman Skipper then gave an acceptance speech.

(Meeting closed at 1.10 pm)